

# ROSEBANK COLLEGE 2016 HSC Report

Rosebank College congratulates the Class of 2016 for outstanding achievement in the HSC



The College is proud to acknowledge the achievements of the 2016 HSC class. "Our Benedictine tradition inspires us to educate our young men and women to face the challenges of the modern world. The class of 2016 rose to this challenge with each individual striving to achieve their personal best, "said Principal Mr Tom Galea.

#### **Overall Achievement**

The College delights in the success of its students. Their results have produced the best performance in the past 10 years.

Courses in which 100% of students scored in the upper Bands 4,5, and 6 include: Business Services, Chinese Background Speakers, English Extension 1, English Extension 2, Extension History, Food Technology, French Continuers, Heritage Korean, Indonesian Background Speakers, Italian Continuers, Japanese Background Speakers, Mathematics Extension 2, Modern Greek Continuers, Spanish Continuers, Spanish Extension. Retail Services, Software Design and Development, and Tourism Travel and Events.

Other notable achievements include:

- 27% of students appearing in the BOSTES All-rounders and Distinguished Achievers lists.
- · Half of the cohort achieved a Band 5 and 6
- 75% of English Advanced students achieved a Band 5 or 6
- 81% of the Visual Arts students achieved a Band 5 or 6
- 80% of Music I achieved a Band 5 or 6
- The cohort was 10% above the State average for Bands 4, 5 and 6.

These results are a testament to the hard work, dilligence and perseverance of the students and their teachers. This has placed the College in the top 14% of secondary schools in NSW (as measured by the number of Band 6s).

## Special congratulations are extended to the following students:

### All-round Achievers

Carissa Dragatogiannis and Annabel McConnachie attained a Band 6 or its equivalent in 10 or more HSC units.

### **Distinguished Achievers**

The following students received a Band 6 in one or more of their courses: Adrian Angeloni, Angelica Badrous, Holly Barnett, Olivia Black, Aleksandra Bridge, Isabella Bucceri, Lauryn Bukureshliev, Anne Diakos, Carissa Dragatogiannis, Vanessa El Hosri, Stephanie Foti, Natalie Giarratano, Alana Gregorio, William Hewgill, Dana Hubraq, Isabella Karam, Mirjana Katinic, Giselle Kelly, Laura Kikirekov, Dong Nyuk (Alex) Kim, Tayla Kostakis, Anne-Marie Kotoros, Dylan Lee, Oliver Lobl-Brogan, Rickii Lotsaris, Michelle Loupos, James Mahon, Madison McAuslan, Annabel McConnachie, Adam Missiakos, Georgia Moffitt, Jade Monga, Isabelle Obeido, Caitlin Park, Max Pedersen, Madeleine Phillips, Patrick Sabine, Vince Sattrukalsinghe, Lara Smith, Kristie Stavrou, Nicholas Stylianesis, Alfons Sustiyono, Darian Tomasiello, Edward Wang and Brianna Willis.

### **Early University Offers**

We are equally proud that the following students received early offers based on their academic record, community contribution and leadership qualities: Holly Barnett, Madeleine Clark, Josephine Costanzo, Cara Fletcher, Stephanie Foti, Victoria Halmet, Monique Lyndon, Adam Missiakos, Isabella Murphy, Bobby Punjabi, Alessandra Saya and Kristie Stavrou.

Additionally, College Captain Holly Barnett won gold in the WorldSkills Australia competition. Holly, along with fellow College Captain Nicholas Stylianesis and peer Vanessa El Hosri, have also been nominated for the University of Sydney Future Leaders scheme.

## **Recognising Outstanding Student Achievement**

# St Scholastica Award Dux 2016 Academic Excellence

Congratulations to Vanessa El Hosri, the highest academic achiever of the 2016 HSC class.



St Benedict Award
Leadership & Service
Congratulations to Braeden Knox
who was recognised for his
excellent leadership and service to
the Community.



### Scholastica Academic Medallion

This award is presented to students in recognition of overall academic achievement.

Olivia Black Lauryn Bukureshliev Carissa Dragatogiannis Michelle Loupos

Annabel McConnachie

Georgia Moffitt Caitlin Park Max Pedersen Edward Wang Leadership & Service Medallion

This award is presented to the students who promote and build a sense of community and give expression to the Christian ideals of the College.

Holly Barnett Aleksandra Bridge Andrew Hondros Georgia Moffitt Isabelle Obeido

Jocelyn Nasr Nicholas Stylianesis Anthony Swales

### Academic Excellence

Congratulations to students who were placed first in one or more courses.

Angelica Badrous Mathematics General 2

Jacob Bechara Industrial Technology (Timber Products and Furniture Technologies)

Olivia Black Economics History Extension Legal Studies Modern History

Aleksandra Bridge English Extension I Visual Arts Lauryn
Bukureshliev
English Extension 1
English Extension 2

Ch'aska Cuba De Reed Biology

Carissa
Dragatogiannis
Ancient History
Business Studies
Studies of Religion 2

Alana Gregorio English (Standard)

Samantha Hamilton Hospitality Joanne Kandio English as a Second Language

Isabella Karam Design & Technology

**Dong Nyuk Kim** Chemistry Mathematics

Rickii Lotsaris English (Advanced) English Extension I

Michelle Loupos Textiles and Design

James Mahon Economics Claudia Massa Italian Continuers

Madison McAuslan PDHPE

Annabel McConnachie Drama English Extension 2

Adam Missiakos Mathematics General 2

**Georgia Moffitt**Business Studies

**Lyon Oo** Mathematics

Extension I Mathematics Extension 2

Caitlin Park Biology

Max Pedersen
Physics
Studies of Religion 1

Madeleine Phillips
Earth and Environmental Science

Patrick Sabine
French Continuers

Raffaella Soussa Music 2

Kristie Stavrou Community and Family Studies

Alfons Sustiyono Information Processes and Technology Music I

Edward Wang Biology English (Standard)

**Brianna Willis**Society and Culture

# Archbishop of Sydney Award

Alfons Sustiyono was acknowledged for his untiring efforts in leadership, service and prayer with this award from Archbishop George Pell.



### Caltex Award

Giselle Kelly was recognised for her academic achievements and contributions to the sporting and community life of the College.



Reuben F Scarf Award

Cara Fletcher was recognised for her exceptional commitment to her studies.



### Ellen Fredericks Year 12 Mathematics Scholarship

Anthony Swales is the inaugural recipient of this scholarship. Anthony is recognised for his perseverance with the academic challenges studying this course and has applied himself to the best of his ability by displaying a genuine interest in their learning.



Pierre de Coubertin Award

Domenico Alafaci was recognised for his attributes consistent with Olympism through participation and commendable behaviour in sporting activities.

